Contact Us

Listen: ‘Inside Llewyn Davis’ Releases First Track, “Fare Thee Well (Dink’s Song)”

The Coen Brothers’ latest music-infused film, ‘Inside Llewyn Davis,’ follows a young folk singer as he submerges himself in the Greenwich Village music scene in the early ’60s. The film is revving up for a benefit concert this Sunday, airing on Showtime, to showcase its incredible soundtrack and musical talent, and you can preview what’s in store, as the first track from the film has debuted online.

The film is appropriately described as, “in the tradition of ‘O Brother, Where Art Thou?,'” and this acoustic rendition of “Fare Thee Well (Dink’s Song),” performed by Mumford & Sons frontman Marcus Mumford and ‘Inside Llewyn Davis’ star Oscar Isaac, invoke images of the classic Coen Brothers’ film. You might recognize this as a Bob Dylan cover of the traditional English folk song, which was featured first in the ‘Inside Llewyn Davis’ trailer; in fact, the soundtrack even features an exclusive, never-before-heard recording of Dylan performing this song.

In addition to Mumford and Isaac, the ‘Inside Llewn Davis’ soundtrack features 12 new recordings created just for the film, some of which are performed by Justin Timberlake and Carey Mulligan, both of whom also star in the film, as well as Punch Brothers. It’s produced by T Bone Burnett and the Coen Brothers, with Marcus Mumford as an associate producer, and is set for release on November 12, ahead of the film’s December 20 theatrical release.

You can get a taste of all the soundtrack has to offer this Sunday, when Showtime airs a concert to benefit the National Recording Preservation Foundation, an independent, non-profit charitable corporation established by the US Congress for the purpose of supporting archives, libraries, cultural institutions and others committed to preserving America’s radio, music and recorded sound heritage. Titled Another Day, Another Time: Celebrating the Music of ‘Inside Llewyn Davis,’ the concert will air at 9 p.m. EST and feature performances by The Avett Brothers, Joan Baez, Rhiannon Giddens of Carolina Chocolate Drops, Lake Street Dive, Colin Meloy of The Decemberists, The Milk Carton Kids, Keb’ Mo’, Marcus Mumford, Bob Neuwirth, Conor Oberst, Punch Brothers, Dave Rawlings Machine, The Secret Sisters, Patti Smith, Gillian Welch, Willie Watson, Jack White, and cast members Isaac, Mulligan, Adam Driver, Stark Sands and John Goodman.

Best of 103.7 The Hawk

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Rockaholics quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Rockaholics contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.