A CD by the Peter Green Splinter Group, featuring former Fleetwood Mac guitarist Peter Green, which was previously only sold at live shows will now see the light of day as a standard release.

‘Blues Don’t Change’ was recorded in 2001 and until now has only been available at live gigs or via the band’s website. The disc, to be issued by Eagle Rock Entertainment on July 24, features Peter and band delivering their own renditions of classics by such blues legends as BB King, Willie Dixon, Albert King, John Lee Hooker and Freddie King, among others.

The Spinter Group, which formed in 1996, features Green along with Nigel Watson on guitar and vocals, Larry Tolfree on drums, Roger Cotton on keyboards, and Pete Stroud on bass. Among the songs tackled here are ‘Crawlin’ King Snake,’ ‘Little Red Rooster,’  ‘Honest I Do,’ and ‘Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out.’  This will be the band’s tenth release.

To fans of great blues, and rock and roll, guitarists, Peter Green needs no introduction. But, for those not familiar, Peter Green was a young guitar genius who rode into notoriety with John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers in 1966 before heading off on his own a year later to form Fleetwood Mac. Green’s guitar playing and vision shaped the early years of the band, although he left the group in 1970.

Peter Green Splinter Group, ‘Blues Don’t Change’ Track Listing:

1. ‘I Believe My Time Ain’t Long’

2. ‘Take Out Some Insurance’

3. ‘When It All Comes Down’

4. ‘Honey Bee’

5. ‘Little Red Rooster’

6. ‘Don’t Start Me Talking’

7. ‘Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out’

8. ‘Help Me Through The Day’

9. ‘Honest I Do’

10. ‘Blues Don’t Change’

11. ‘Crawlin’ King Snake’

More From 103.7 The Hawk