Contact Us

Chrissie Hynde Announces First-Ever Solo Record – Hear Lead Single Now

Subscribe to 103.7 The Hawk on

As we reported two weeks ago, Chrissie Hynde is getting set to release her first-ever solo record. Now we have the full information. Today (March 24), she revealed that ‘Stockholm’ will be available on June 10, and unveiled the first single, “Dark Sunglasses,’ which can be streamed above.

For years, the longtime frontwoman for the Pretenders has eschewed the idea of a solo album in favor of being in a band, but as she said in the press release announcing ‘Stockholm,’ “It’s the first album with my name on it, but it’s not a solo album. In fact, making this album was more of a collaboration than any Pretenders album ever was.”

Her main collaborator on ‘Stockholm’ was Bjorn Yttling of Swedish indie band Peter, Bjorn and John, who had a hit in 2006 with ‘Young Folks.’ The disc also features contributions from Neil Young, Joakim Ahlund and former tennis player John McEnroe. ‘Dark Sunglasses,’ which finds Hynde in fine voice and an irreverent mood, an attitude she feels is missing these days.

“So much of rock n roll has become what I would call Glory Rock, with family values. It’s the irreverence in rock that was always the turn-on. I disagree with people who say you shouldn’t take yourself too seriously. I think life is serious, and you should take it seriously, but in rock n roll either have a f—ing laugh or f— off.”

‘Stockholm’ Track Listing

1. ‘You Or No One’
2. ‘Dark Sunglasses’
3. ‘Like In The Movies’
4. ‘Down The Wrong Way’
5. ‘You’re The One’
6. ‘A Plan Too Far’
7. ‘In A Miracle’
8. ‘House Of Cards’
9. ‘Tourniquet (Cynthia Ann)’
10. ‘Sweet Nuthin’
11. ‘Adding The Blue’

Best of 103.7 The Hawk

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Rockaholics quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Rockaholics contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.