Black Sabbath singer Ozzy Osbourne, Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor and Metallica singer/guitarist James Hetfield are among the classic and contemporary hard rockers who have selected the 17 songs for the new Judas Priest compilation, ‘The Chosen Few,’ due Oct. 11.

“This is a collection of songs chosen by our friends and respected peers,” Judas Priest singer Rob Halford recently said to Rolling Stone. “So we hope all the metal maniacs out there will rock out to the tunes enjoyed by metal legends.”

In the album’s liner notes, Osbourne comments on his choice, ‘The Ripper,’ saying that a piercing note Halford sings in the song “is probably just below what only dogs can hear.” Meanwhile, Taylor believes that his selection, ‘You’ve Got Another Thing Coming,’ contributed to Priest becoming “the blueprint for the ultimate heavy metal band.”

[Rolling Stone]